Home Education The Australian educational system

The Australian educational system


The Australian system of education is a highly regarded system that is well known for its  excellence, innovation, and diversity. It is divided into four main stages:

  • Early childhood education (ECE): This stage covers children from birth to the age of five. ECE is not compulsory in Australia, but it is widely available and subsidized by the government.
  • Primary education: This stage includes youngsters from infancy to the age of five. ECE is not mandatory in Australia, although it is widely available and government-subsidized.
  • Secondary education: This stage includes students aged twelve to sixteen. Secondary school is mandatory in Australia, and pupils can attend either a government or a non-government school.
  • Tertiary education: This stage includes students over the age of sixteen. Higher education (universities and other higher education providers) and vocational education and training (VET) are both part of tertiary education in Australia.

Australian Qualifications Framework

The Australian education system is distinguished from many other countries by the Australian Qualifications Framework (AQF). The AQF was established in 1995 and is a national policy that covers qualifications from the tertiary education sector (higher education and vocational education and training) in addition to the school-leaving certificate; the Senior Secondary Certificate of Education.

The AQF has 10 levels and links school, vocational and university education qualifications into one national system. This allows you to move easily from one level of study to the next, and from one institution to another, as long as you satisfy student visa requirements. It allows for choice and flexibility in career planning. All qualifications in the AQF help prepare you for both further study and your working life.

If you are studying an AQF qualification, you can be sure that your institution is Government-authorised and nationally accredited, and that your degree or other AQF qualification will be genuine.

Our institutions are linked across the country and across the world, which makes it easy to move throughout the education system between courses or institutions and formal agreement and recognition frameworks mean every step of the path will contribute to your future no matter what your study or career goals.

The Australian education system is renowned for its excellence and innovation. It is routinely listed among the world’s greatest education systems, and it is noted for its emphasis on student-centered learning as well as critical thinking and problem-solving skills. The Australian education system is also extremely diversified, with pupils having access to a large selection of schools and educational opportunities.

key features of the Australian education system:

  • High quality: The Australian education system is consistently ranked among the best in the world.
  • Innovation: The Australian education system is well-known for its emphasis on innovation and readiness to try out new teaching methods.
  • Diversity: The Australian education system offers a wide range of schools and educational options, so students can find the right fit for their needs.
  • Emphasis on critical thinking and problem-solving: The Australian education system places importance on critical thinking and problem-solving abilities, which are crucial for success in the twenty-first century.
  • Focus on student-centered learning: The Australian education system is student-centered, which means that the emphasis is on each student’s specific requirements.

If you are thinking about sending your child to school in Australia, you can be assured that they will receive a high-quality education that will prepare them for success.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here